Education in UK
Add school to
Staffordshire University

Last modified:
American InterContinental University - London
The Norton Knatchbull School - Ashford
Gossops Green Community Primary School - Gossops Green
Great Ballard School - Chichester
Georgian Gardens Community Primary School - Rustington
Fordwater School - Chichester
Fonthill Lodge School - East Grinstead
Fairway Infant School - Copthorne
Elm Grove Infant School - Littlehampton
Elm Grove First School - Worthing
Yew Tree Primary School - Yew Tree Estate
Yew Tree Community Primary School - Aston
Woodway Park School & Community College - Coventry
Woodthorpe Primary School - Kings Heath
Woodrush Community High School - Specialist Technology College - Birmingham
Woodlands Primary School - Willenhall
Woodfield Infant School - Penn
Wood Green High School College of Sport - Wood Green Road
Wolverhampton Grammar School - Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton Girls High School - Wolverhampton
Wollescote Primary School - Wollescote
Wodensfield Primary School - Wednesfield
Wodensborough Community Technology College - Wednesbury
Withymoor Primary School - Off Turners Lane Quarry Bank
Willenhall School Sports College - Willenhall
Whitehouse Common Primary School - Sutton Coldfield
Edward Bryant Primary School - Bognor Regis
Eastergate C E Primary School - Eastergate
West House School - Edgbaston
East Wittering Community Primary School - East Wittering
Welford Primary School - Handsworth
East Preston Junior School - East Preston
Wednesfield Village Primary School - Wednesfield
East Preston Infant School - East Preston
Wednesfield College (Specialist Engineering School) - Wednesfield
Durrington Middle School - Durrington
Ward End Primary School - Ward End
Walsgrave C E Primary School - Coventry
Durrington First School - Durrington

Bournemouth University
Fern Barrow, BH12 5BB Bournemouth
+44 (0)1202 524111
Welcome to Bournemouth University Undergraduate Programmes - part 1 Undergraduate Programmes - part 2 Undergraduate Programmes - part 3 Postgraduate Programmes - part 1 Postgraduate Programmes - part 2 Short Courses University History Corporate Plan 2006 - 2012 Student Numbers Academic Centres Acommodation Residences Future International Students Facilities & Resources - Sports Why Choose BU? Disability Support

University History

The University's origins can be traced to the early part of the 20th century with the foundation of the former Bournemouth Municipal College. Its modern history began in the early 1970s with the creation of the Bournemouth College of Technology. Construction of the new buildings on what was the largest farm in Talbot Village was completed by September of 1976.

During this time, the Dorset Education Committee reviewed the provision of further and higher education throughout the county. As a result, the College was renamed the Dorset Institute of Higher Education.


Woman standing by sign Students Graduating

In 1990, the Dorset Institute successfully met all of the requirements of the Polytechnics and Colleges Funding Council and was re-designated Bournemouth Polytechnic. Under the Higher & Further Education Act of 1992, the Polytechnic became Bournemouth University with inauguration on November 27th of the same year.


Throughout its life, Bournemouth University has developed a strong reputation for offering a wide range of opportunities for undergraduate and postgraduate study, research and consultancy.

The number of students attending the University has risen to almost 16,000 within a quarter of a century. Inspired by an entrepreneurial spirit, the University continues in the development of learning opportunities and is amongst the leaders in the UK for graduate employment.


The University Crest

The College of Arms granted Bournemouth University a coat of arms in 1992, having undertaken a lengthy process of research and design.


University Crest

How the Coat Of Arms is made up

The three dogs on the shield are Talbots - a traditional heraldic beast. They represent the fact that the main campus is on Talbot Heath and also show the close connection with the Talbot Village Trust. The Talbots are on a blue ground, representing the sea. The three crowns on the shield are three Saxon crowns representing the ancient kingdom of Wessex and the three boroughs of Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch. They are red on a gold background.

The shield is supported on the right by a Griffin in red, representing Dorset, as the Griffin is part of the bearings of the county. The shield is also supported on the left by a Hart, representing Hampshire (the Hart being part of the bearings of that county).

The hand rising out of the helmet is a traditional heraldic depictment. It holds a scroll, representing learning. The translation of the motto 'Discere Mutari Est' is 'To Learn is to Change'.

primary schools in Bournemouth, secondary schools in Bournemouth, schools in Bournemouth

Editorial office:
tel. + 48 (094)