Education in UK
Add school to
Staffordshire University

Last modified:
American InterContinental University - London
The Norton Knatchbull School - Ashford
Gossops Green Community Primary School - Gossops Green
Great Ballard School - Chichester
Georgian Gardens Community Primary School - Rustington
Fordwater School - Chichester
Fonthill Lodge School - East Grinstead
Fairway Infant School - Copthorne
Elm Grove Infant School - Littlehampton
Elm Grove First School - Worthing
Yew Tree Primary School - Yew Tree Estate
Yew Tree Community Primary School - Aston
Woodway Park School & Community College - Coventry
Woodthorpe Primary School - Kings Heath
Woodrush Community High School - Specialist Technology College - Birmingham
Woodlands Primary School - Willenhall
Woodfield Infant School - Penn
Wood Green High School College of Sport - Wood Green Road
Wolverhampton Grammar School - Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton Girls High School - Wolverhampton
Wollescote Primary School - Wollescote
Wodensfield Primary School - Wednesfield
Wodensborough Community Technology College - Wednesbury
Withymoor Primary School - Off Turners Lane Quarry Bank
Willenhall School Sports College - Willenhall
Whitehouse Common Primary School - Sutton Coldfield
Edward Bryant Primary School - Bognor Regis
Eastergate C E Primary School - Eastergate
West House School - Edgbaston
East Wittering Community Primary School - East Wittering
Welford Primary School - Handsworth
East Preston Junior School - East Preston
Wednesfield Village Primary School - Wednesfield
East Preston Infant School - East Preston
Wednesfield College (Specialist Engineering School) - Wednesfield
Durrington Middle School - Durrington
Ward End Primary School - Ward End
Walsgrave C E Primary School - Coventry
Durrington First School - Durrington

Thames View Infant School
Bloors Lane, Rainham, ME8 7DX, UK Gillingham
+44 (0)1634-361129


Our Mission Statement

At Thames View Infant School and Nursery we are committed to continually raise the standard of education available at the school. We work in partnership with parents to achieve good academic success, within a caring and secure environment. Our overall aim is that everyone should do the very best that they can in an atmosphere of inclusion and celebration. We will make every effort to motivate and engage children as lifelong learners through inspirational teaching and creativity in the curriculum. We need to prepare the 'whole' child to be flexible and resilient, as well as reliable and resourceful for their life ahead ~ Ready to take their place in the community, in a constantly changing technological world.

In OUR SCHOOL this means that we work together, play together and take care of each other.

Thames View Infant School and Nursery is a community school, where we view parents as partners in the children’s education. Children spend three years with us before transferring to the junior stage of their education.

Our Ethos

At Thames View Infant School and Nursery, we fully subscribe to the Government's vision for children and children's services as outlined in 'Every Child Matters: Change for Children' and want to be proactive in helping each child to achieve the key elements to well being in childhood and later life. There are:

  • Be healthy
  • Stay safe
  • Enjoy and achieve
  • Make a positive contribution
  • Achieve economic well being


The National Curriculum sets out what children should learn between the ages of five and 16 in both primary and secondary schools.

Pupils in primary schools study nine subjects in addition to Religious Education, these are:-

Since September 1998, only four of these are core subjects. They are English, Maths, Science and Information Communication Technology. Religious Education also retains its special status.

The National Curriculum

Each subject has a programme of study. From September 1998, as part of the DfES's drive to improve national literacy standards, we have been implementing the Literacy Strategy (one hour each day); this was followed in September 1999 by the Numeracy Strategy (45 minutes each day). Other subjects follow the QCA guidelines.

Qualifications and Curriculum Authority

The National Curriculum covers two age groups in primary schools. The first, called Key Stage 1 is for children up to the age of seven and the second, Key Stage 2, is for children up to 11.

Children's progress in all the National Curriculum targets is measured by their teachers throughout the infant and junior years.

In addition, at the end of Key Stage 1 there is a system of national testing by means of specially designed activities and tasks which are administered by teachers. These are called Standard Assessment Tasks or SATs. The results from the teachers assessment and the tasks are reported to parents in their child's annual report. Reaching the end of Key Stage 1 does not mean that every child has successfully completed all the work laid down in the National Curriculum for that stage. It simply marks the end of the school year in which they become seven.

Most subjects have 10 levels of achievement starting with Level 1 which represents the sort of work done by an average five year old up to Level 10 which will only be achieved by the most able 16 year olds.

Since each level is likely to take two years to work through, it is possible that your child may be on the same level in two reports.

This does not mean that no progress has been made - your child may now be much closer to achieving the next level than she/he was before.

As all children have different aptitudes and interests, they will almost certainly progress at different rates in different areas and will not be at the same level in all the targets in different subjects.

There are target levels for seven and 11 year olds. At seven the target is Level 2 although some children will be working towards or on Level 1 and some may well be on Level 3. At 11 the target is Level 4.

As parents wishing to support your child, you will be interested in how your child is doing compared with others in the class, but please remember that the progress they have made compared to their earlier achievements, is just as important.


Penguin Class
Mrs Nelson
Seal Class
Mrs Shields
Starfish Class
Mrs Johnson
Year One
Octopus Class
Mrs Adshead
Year One
Dolphin Class
Mrs Thompson
Year Two
Turtle Class
Mrs Khan
Year Two
Seahorse Class
Mrs Poulter


Our Foundation Stage Unit has two reception classes and, since September 2005, one nursery class.

In the Foundation Stage we have our own curriculum: the Foundation Stage Curriculum, which is organised into six areas of learning:

  • Personal, social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Mathematical Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development
The children access the curriculum through play based activities which are both indoors and outside. We are fortunate to have four outdoor areas, two of which are covered. Each area has a different focus e.g. physical area – climbing, wheeled toys etc; garden area – exploration of plants, mini-beasts and gardening; creative area – imaginative play and an area directly outside the Nursery class.

primary schools in Gillingham, secondary schools in Gillingham, schools in Gillingham

Editorial office:
tel. + 48 (094)