Education in UK
Add school to
Staffordshire University

Last modified:
American InterContinental University - London
The Norton Knatchbull School - Ashford
Gossops Green Community Primary School - Gossops Green
Great Ballard School - Chichester
Georgian Gardens Community Primary School - Rustington
Fordwater School - Chichester
Fonthill Lodge School - East Grinstead
Fairway Infant School - Copthorne
Elm Grove Infant School - Littlehampton
Elm Grove First School - Worthing
Yew Tree Primary School - Yew Tree Estate
Yew Tree Community Primary School - Aston
Woodway Park School & Community College - Coventry
Woodthorpe Primary School - Kings Heath
Woodrush Community High School - Specialist Technology College - Birmingham
Woodlands Primary School - Willenhall
Woodfield Infant School - Penn
Wood Green High School College of Sport - Wood Green Road
Wolverhampton Grammar School - Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton Girls High School - Wolverhampton
Wollescote Primary School - Wollescote
Wodensfield Primary School - Wednesfield
Wodensborough Community Technology College - Wednesbury
Withymoor Primary School - Off Turners Lane Quarry Bank
Willenhall School Sports College - Willenhall
Whitehouse Common Primary School - Sutton Coldfield
Edward Bryant Primary School - Bognor Regis
Eastergate C E Primary School - Eastergate
West House School - Edgbaston
East Wittering Community Primary School - East Wittering
Welford Primary School - Handsworth
East Preston Junior School - East Preston
Wednesfield Village Primary School - Wednesfield
East Preston Infant School - East Preston
Wednesfield College (Specialist Engineering School) - Wednesfield
Durrington Middle School - Durrington
Ward End Primary School - Ward End
Walsgrave C E Primary School - Coventry
Durrington First School - Durrington

St George's C E (V A)Infant School and Nursery Unit
Jackets Lane, Northam, EX39 1HT Bideford
01237 477262


St. George’s is a Voluntary Aided Infant and Nursery School situated in North Devon.

School signOur catchment areas are Northam and Westward Ho! but we also have pupils from Bideford and Appledore and even further afield. We currently have 210 children on roll which includes up to 52 children within the nursery. Our planned admission number is 60 and we have 2 classes per year group.

We are fortunate to be situated near beautiful coastline with the school being only a short distance from the Northam Burrows Country Park.

The school was built in 1975 and has over the years undergone extensive refurbishment including an enlarged nursery, purpose built ICT suite housing 15 computers and a library. All of this work has enabled us to provide a warm, happy and stimulating environment in which our children can learn and flourish.

As a Voluntary aided school we have close links with St. Margaret’s Church where we celebrate many special occasions throughout the year. We also enjoy close links with our junior school St. Margaret’s ensuring a smooth transition for our children, and with Snapdragons Pre-school playgroup who are situated in a mobile classroom on our site. The school is part of the Bideford Learning Community in which we are actively involved.

Our highly qualified, dedicated team strive to ensure that children are provided with the best possible opportunities. We welcome the support of parents in a variety of ways, and who are actively encouraged to become involved in school life.

We hope you will find all the information on the web site, but if there is anything else you would like to know, please contact us.


Governors at St. George’s are responsible for the overall management of the school. As a group they make decisions about how the school is run, with a focus on high expectations, raising standards, and the promotion of effective teaching and learning.

The full body of governors meet at least once a term. There are also sub-committees meeting regularly that are responsible for: Finance, Curriculum, Personnel, Admissions, Premises, Health and Safety and Public Relations. Individual governors are responsible for reporting on Literacy, Numeracy and Special Educational Needs to the governors via the Curriculum sub-committee.

The governing body is representative of the local community and includes: parents, teachers, staff, and members of the local church, business people, and council representative.

The current governors are:

Minor authority (chair) Mrs Sheila Bloomfield
LEA Dr. John Leveridge
LEA Mrs Karen Dixon
Head Teacher Mrs Babs Johnson
Teacher Governor Miss Jane Coombs
Non-teaching Mrs Kay Martin
Parent Governor Mr Keith Bennett
Ex Officio Rev. Richard Frost
Foundation Parent Governor Wendy Cox
"(vice chair) Mr Martin Chance
" Mrs Lindy Johnson
" Mrs Erica Henderson
" Miss Ann Irwin
Clerk to Governors Mrs Di Miller

All Governors can be contacted through the school administrator, Di Miller on Bideford 477262 who will be happy to arrange a mutually convenient appointment at the school.

primary schools in Bideford, secondary schools in Bideford, schools in Bideford

Editorial office:
tel. + 48 (094)