Education in UK
Add school to
Staffordshire University

Last modified:
American InterContinental University - London
The Norton Knatchbull School - Ashford
Gossops Green Community Primary School - Gossops Green
Great Ballard School - Chichester
Georgian Gardens Community Primary School - Rustington
Fordwater School - Chichester
Fonthill Lodge School - East Grinstead
Fairway Infant School - Copthorne
Elm Grove Infant School - Littlehampton
Elm Grove First School - Worthing
Yew Tree Primary School - Yew Tree Estate
Yew Tree Community Primary School - Aston
Woodway Park School & Community College - Coventry
Woodthorpe Primary School - Kings Heath
Woodrush Community High School - Specialist Technology College - Birmingham
Woodlands Primary School - Willenhall
Woodfield Infant School - Penn
Wood Green High School College of Sport - Wood Green Road
Wolverhampton Grammar School - Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton Girls High School - Wolverhampton
Wollescote Primary School - Wollescote
Wodensfield Primary School - Wednesfield
Wodensborough Community Technology College - Wednesbury
Withymoor Primary School - Off Turners Lane Quarry Bank
Willenhall School Sports College - Willenhall
Whitehouse Common Primary School - Sutton Coldfield
Edward Bryant Primary School - Bognor Regis
Eastergate C E Primary School - Eastergate
West House School - Edgbaston
East Wittering Community Primary School - East Wittering
Welford Primary School - Handsworth
East Preston Junior School - East Preston
Wednesfield Village Primary School - Wednesfield
East Preston Infant School - East Preston
Wednesfield College (Specialist Engineering School) - Wednesfield
Durrington Middle School - Durrington
Ward End Primary School - Ward End
Walsgrave C E Primary School - Coventry
Durrington First School - Durrington

The Beacon C E VA Primary School
1 Beacon Place, EX8 2SR Exmouth
01395 264300

Welcome to our website!

On behalf of the pupils, staff and governors, we welcome you to our school's website.

The Beacon Church of England Primary School is Exmouth's longest established school. We are a co-educational day school.

Achieving together in a Christian school.

We encourage all those connected with our school to support us in providing a happy, secure and stimulating learning environment where children can receive a high quality education to ensure a sound foundation for their future lives.

We aim to:

  • Ensure Christian values can be seen in action.
  • Provide a school where all individuals are included and their uniqueness and talents are valued.
  • Provide a safe and happy environment.
  • Give equal value to all areas of learning and personal development.
  • Encourage a life-long love of learning and personal achievement.

The School

Introduction to the School

The school is a short walk from the town centre and the sea front. Its premises are in two parts. The original building now houses six classrooms, a food technology room, a special needs room and the school offices. A second, later building comprises of two classrooms and the hall which we use for a variety of activities: Assemblies, P.E., Drama, Dance etc. We have limited outdoor play space, but we make good use of local facilities, including the Leisure Centre and swimming pool, rugby football pitches and nearby Rolle Faculty (University of Plymouth).

The school is organised on a class basis with one teacher mainly responsible for each class; all are mixed ability classes. We identify children with any special educational needs and cater for their needs in the normal classroom situation in accordance with our SEN policy. However there is provision for some teaching in smaller groups withdrawn from normal classes, and further professional advice may be sought.

The Beacon was founded by the Church, and today has the status of a Voluntary Aided School. This means that the Church makes a financial contribution towards the maintenance of the school, and that the Church has representatives on the Board of Governors. It also means that religious instruction is given according to the principles of the Church of England, although, of course, we welcome pupils of every creed and denomination into a caring Christian atmosphere.



Below are the pages that make up our school prospectus. We will be adding to this section as and when we can:

Individual pages from the prospectus:

To view the PDF files you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here to download.
Clcik here to get Adobe Acrobat Reader


Staff and Governors


  • Mrs Sue Lockwood - (Acting Headteacher)
  • Mrs Diane Devin - (Foundation Co-ordinator)
  • Mrs Alison Douglas - (Senior Teacher)
  • Mrs Claire Hogan - (Senco)
  • Miss Tessa Hubble
  • Mrs Sue Lawson
  • Mrs Amanda Pow
  • Mrs Vanessa Briggs - (Part-time)

Non-teaching Staff

School Administrator Mrs Martinne Rowland
Admin Assistant Mrs Sarah Barnard
Teaching Assistants Mrs Sue Hambly
Mrs Vicky Bartlett
Mrs Jacqui Grandi
Mrs Christine Thorn
Mr Ben Norris
Mealtime Assistants Miss Karen Archer
Miss Angela Morris
Miss Charlotte Mountford
Mrs Karen Green
Mrs Nicola Brice
Cook-in-Charge Miss Gillian Neil
Premises Manager/
Road Crossing Patrol
Mr Keith Hicks
Kitchen Assistant/ Cleaner Mrs Teresa Harcus

Road Crossing Patrol

Mr Roy Oliver


Mrs Kerensa Pearsonr Chairperson
Rev Ian Morter Ex Officio
Mrs Sylvia Greenland LEA Governor
Mr Paul Stock Foundation
Mrs Angela Tunwell Foundation
Mr Tim Pegler Foundation
Mrs Emma O'Loughlin Foundation
Rev Adrian Graesser Foundation
Mr Michael Lewis Foundation
Miss Amanda Membery Staff Governor
Mrs Sue Hambly Staff Governor
Mrs Susan Hurley Parent
Mr Michael Thorn Parent
Mrs Susan Lockwood Acting Headteacher
Ms Catherine Escott Clerk to Governors

The Governors and the Clerk may be contacted via into the School Office.

primary schools in Exmouth, secondary schools in Exmouth, schools in Exmouth

Editorial office:
tel. + 48 (094)